Sep 29

At the invitation of the President of the European Council, Herman Van Rompuy and the Polish Prime Minister, Donald Tusk, the EU and the Eastern Partnership countries meet in Warsaw on 29 and 30 September.

President Van ROMPUY  chairs the meeting and together with the President of the European Commission, José Manuel BARROSO will represent the EU. The European Union High Representative Catherine ASHTON, Commissioner in charge of Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy, Štefan FÜLE, and the President of the European Parliament, Jerzy BUZEK,  also attend.

The EU member states are also  represented at the highest level.

The six partner countries are represented by the Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan, President Ilham Aliyev of Azerbaijan, President Mikheil Saakashvili of Georgia, Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovich , Moldovan Prime Minister Vladimir Filat and the Ambassador of Belarus in Warsaw.

This Summit reviews progress made in the implementation of the Eastern Partnership over the last two years based on shared values of democracy and human rights. The Summit will also decide on the next steps to ensure continued progress toward deeper political association and economic integration with the European Union based on Eastern European countries’ sustainable reform effort.

In this respect, progress towards Deep and Comprehensive Free trade Areas and in the area of mobility and enhanced sector cooperation, notably in the field of transport, energy and agriculture, will represent key deliverables.

Read more:

Kommentaarid: 0

Email again:

Lisa kommentaar

Email again:
SF7 logo

Dr. James Scott
Project manager
Ph: (+358) 50366 0653
Project information
Project duration: 01.03.2011-28.02.2015
Lead partner: University of Eastern Finland
Total budget: 3 386 700 €
EU contribution: 2 644 090 €